St Mary´s Churchis the only miner´s church in Saxony.
The little St. Marien Miners' Church was built between 1502 and 1511 and it's something quite special. It's the only church in Saxony specially for miners: built by miners for miners. The church's exterior as we see it today only dates back to 1736. Prior to that it had sustained damage in the town fires, some of which was quite serious. During the First World War the church had to donate its bell to be melted down in support of the war effort, and it was only in 1996 that it was replaced with a new one, thanks to the efforts of the Miners' Guild and Brotherhood of Frohnau. These days visitors can see the miners' church for themselves at any time of year, and it is once again being used for miners' services.