The finale back to the Göltzscht valley bridge is on today's stage. A last ascent to Wilhelmshöhe promises one more panoramic view from the Perlaser Tower before returning over Mylau Castle to the starting point of the approximately 225 km long route.
The last stage first leads uphill out of Lengenfeld and on the ridge you reach the "Perlaser Tower". The tower, originally built of wood, was destroyed in a severe storm in 1897. In 1907, the stone tower standing today was built on the 493 m high Wilhelmshöhe. You pass the village Weißensand and reach Mühlwand. In Mühlwand there is an interesting view into the mining of alum shale. The former alum mine was in operation from 1691 to 1827 and then fell into oblivion. In 1954, after a severe storm, enormous amounts of water broke open the old tunnels again. Since 1994, locals have been involved in reopening the site.
In 1998, a support association was founded and acted as the sponsor for further development of the mine. Now the complicated underground work could begin: clearing the largely silted tunnel system. With shovels, buckets and wheelbarrows, the helpers cleared passages and shafts, installed electrical wiring, built timbering and stepping bridges. On September 21, 2001, the visitor mine was opened.
Unfortunately, in May and June 2013, as a result of the century flood, the mine and outdoor facilities were flooded. The visitor mine, cared for over many years, could not be saved. But again, it was the hardworking hands of the association and many volunteers who took action. The cleanup work lasted until 2017. The outdoor facilities were partially redesigned. On October 7, 2017, the visitor mine was ceremoniously reopened. Today, visitors can expect colorful tunnels with stalactites and sinter formations - a rare natural monument and testimony to mining history!
Further towards Mylau, the mighty Mylau Castle greets from afar. It is a fortress built on a mountain spur and one of the best-preserved medieval castles in Saxony. From its origin around 1200, a round, 27-meter-high keep has survived. Today, Mylau shows a crowned ruler in its coat of arms. This goes back to the fact that Charles IV, King of Bohemia and Emperor of the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation, had acquired the castle and lordship. In 1367, he visited it and granted the settlement at the foot of the castle town rights.












